Bhagwan Shree Swaminarayan wrote “Shikshapatri” on Maha Sud 5 (Vasant Panchami), Sanvat 1882 (Monday, February 12, 1826 A.D.) in which he defined rules for his devotees to follow. There are 212 Sloks in Shikshapatri, ​

Satsangi Jeevan

Shatanand Swami* wrote “Satsangi Jeevan.” This is another MAIN granth about Udhav Sampraday (i.e. Swaminarayan Sampraday). There are 5 prakaran and 328 adhyay in Satsangi Jeevan

Hari Geeta

Hari Geeta is in 32 to 36 Adhyay of Satsangi Jeevan’s 1st Prakaran. This granth talks about Sadhu’s 64 behaviors (32nd Adhyaya), Dharma (33rd Adhyaya), Gnan (34th Adhyaya), Vairagya (35th Adhyaya), and Bhakti (36th Adhyaya). Bhagwan Shree Swaminarayan talked to His mother about this granth to give her real Gnan about Bhagwan Him-self.


Bhagwan Shree Swaminarayan spoke to many devotees about many different religious topics in following villages: Gadhada, Sarangpur, Kariyani, Loya, Panchala, Vadtal, Ahmedabad. Muktanand Swami, Gopalanand Swami, Nityanand Swami and Shukanand Swami put together this granth named “Vachanamrut” in presence of Bhagwan Swaminarayan. The total number of Vachanamruts are 262.

Harileela Mrut

Aacharya Shree Viharilalji Maharaj wrote “Harileela Mrut.” This granth talks about Bhagwan Shree Swaminarayan Charitra and leela in details. This is really nice granth for someone who is not familiar with Swaminarayan Sampraday. Harileela Mrut is divided into 2 parts containing total 10 Kalash.


Nishkulanand Swami wrote “Yamdund” granth upon request of Bhagwan Shree Swaminarayan. “Yamdund” is the FIRST granth of Udhav Sampraday (currently known as Shree Swaminarayan Sampraday). This granth talks about 14 different types of hells and a bad person gets a punishment according to the types of sins he/she committed on this earth.

Bhakt Chintamani

Nishkulanand Swami wrote “Bhakt Chintamani” granth which contains 164 Prakran.

Nishkulanand Kavya

Nishkulanand Kavya contains 22 out of 23 granths listed below except Bhakt Chintamani.

Muktanand Kavya

Muktanand Kavya contains 21 granths.

Shikshapatri Bhashya

Shikshapatri Bhashya is written by Shatanand Swami* which explains each Slok of Shikshapatri.

Vishnu Sahastranam

Vishnu Sahastranam is written by Vyasmuni which contains 142 Sloks.

Sarvamangal Stotra

Sarvamangal Stotra is written by Satanand Swami* which contains 214 Sloks and 1000 names.

Janmangal Stotra

Janmangak Stotra is written by Satanand Swami* which contains 108 names.

Narayan Kavach

Narayan Kavach is in 8th Adhyay of Srimad Bhagwat’s 6th Skandh.

Narayan Geeta

Narayan Geeta is in 7th Adhyay of Satsangi Jeevan’s 2nd Prakaran and has 108 Sloks.

Bhagwat Geeta

Bhagwat Geeta is written by Vyas Bhagwan. It contains 18 Adhyay and 700 Sloks.

Kapil Geeta

Kapil Geeta is in Srimad Bhagwat’s 3rd Skandh.

Ras Panchadhayi

Ras Panchadhayi is in Srimad Bhagwat’s 10th Skandh – 29 to 33 Adhyay.​

Bhagwan Shree Swaminarayan’s favorite 8 Granths. (Shikshapatri Slok No. 92 to 100)

vairagya murti P.P. Nishkulanand Swami wrote following 23 granths.

NOTE : This is not a complete list of granths of Shree Swaminarayan Sampraday.